Skip to content
Portfolio / Studies
Companion research / Evidence & decisions

Who releases the money?

Better progress evidence helps only if it reaches the person making the decision. This study follows where evidence enters a construction payment process and what the public record leaves unclear.

Read the complete study ↗
4release mechanisms examined
60+pages opened in the original study
03 Sep2026 research snapshot
THE QUESTION

Seeing that work has happened does not tell a product team who needs the evidence or what decision it can support.

WHAT YOU CAN EXPLORE

The study traces documented evidence and release points across four construction funding contexts.

WHAT YOU CAN USE

Use it to identify a workflow and reviewer to investigate before designing a new verification product.

How it works · for a closer look

This page preserves a dated research snapshot, not current legal or financing advice. Published rules and descriptions do not establish every private practice; bank-lending verification is explicitly a lower-confidence finding. Consult the retained sources and confidence notes.

The short version

Follow the evidence to the decision.

The original research maps off-plan escrow, bank lending, self-build funding and public-works payment. The new reading structure puts the comparison first, with the detailed rules, sources and confidence notes one level deeper.

Read the complete studyOriginal research, charts, supporting tables and source links
01 · The answer

The consultant signs, the bank pays.

In off-plan sales, the escrow bank releases funds against a disbursement document signed by the developer, the developer's own engineering consultant and a chartered accountant. In government work, the supervising consultant approves monthly settlements measured against the bill of quantities. In bank lending to developers, release is contractual and the verifier is unstated. In none of them does a party independent of the project measure what stands on the ground.

Rule

No milestone ladder exists.

Neither the 2024 Off-plan Law nor its regulations publish a release schedule by percent complete. Release is whatever the consultant and the accountant certify. The only written thresholds are a 5 percent cap on reservation deposits, up to 20 percent of sold value for administration and marketing, and a 5 percent retention for a year after completion.

Practice

Spot checks, not measurement.

REGA made 1,130 supervisory visits in 2023, 475 of them engineering visits, across a stock of more than 100,000 licensed units. The visit reviews the consultant's reports. The signature that moves money is still the consultant's.

Gap

Nobody sells the independent view.

What is sold in the Kingdom is capture tooling for contractors and owners: 360-degree walks, drone orthophotos, workforce telemetry. One surveyor offers development monitoring. No lender, escrow bank or regulator is named as the buyer of an independent progress measurement anywhere we could open.

Least-confident finding: the bank-lending row. No Saudi bank page we could open describes who verifies a developer's drawdown stage; the practice may well involve independent engineers under mandates that are simply not published.
02 · The four release points

Where money meets progress.

MechanismWho certifiesCadenceEvidence usedRuleLinks
Off-plan sales (Wafi, under the 2024 Off-plan Sale and Lease Law)The developer, the developer's engineering consulting office, and a chartered accountant sign a disbursement document; the escrow bank pays on that document. No third party measures progress.Per withdrawal request; the consultant reports progress to REGA monthly for large or state-linked projects, otherwise quarterlyThe consultant's completion reports and the accountant's financial reportsLaw Art. 11 and 14; Regulations Art. 25 and 27link 1 · link 2
Bank lending to developersContractual, bank by bank. No SAMA rule governs developer drawdowns; SAMA's real-estate finance rules cover end-buyers. ANB describes funds released in instalments according to construction stages. Who verifies the stage is not stated on any fetched page.Per stageBank's own stage schedule; verifier unstatedSAMA Real Estate Finance regulation (end-buyers only); ANB product pagelink 1
Real Estate Development Fund, self-buildREDF releases up to six tranches; the second needs at least 40 percent completion. The developer programme Tatweer is a financing-access platform, not a release mechanism.Per trancheCompletion percentage; verifier not statedREDF tranche rule (reported 25 May 2025)link 1 · link 2
Government and PIF-entity contractsThe supervising consultant or technical authority approves settlements of accomplished work; the Engineer checks by measurement. At least one settlement a month. Advance capped at 10 percent, final 10 percent held to initial acceptance.MonthlyMeasured quantities against the bill of quantitiesStandard Public Works Contract Art. 47 and 50-Blink 1
Government pay-on-time (new GTPL, approved 4 to 5 August 2026)Fixes when the treasury pays, not who certifies: no new award while a contractor's dues are unpaid; Ministry of Finance review cut from 15 to 4 working days; in force 120 days after Gazette publication.Per certificateCertified settlementsCouncil of Ministers decision, August 2026link 1
Saudi Building Code inspectionA licensed third-party inspection body inspects stage by stage and the municipality issues an occupancy certificate. It certifies code compliance, never value earned.Per stageCode inspection reportsBuilding Code regulation Art. 21 and 22link 1
03 · Who already sells verification

Capture is sold. Certification is not.

ProviderWhat they sell in Saudi Arabia, as statedDateIndependent certifier for a release point?Link
OpenSpace via WakeCap360-degree reality capture offered to Saudi contractors; remote progress monitoring22 Apr 2024No, contractor and owner toolingsource
Terra Drone ArabiaDrone progress tracking: orthophotos, cut and fill, point clouds, dashboards; free three-month programme16 Sep 2025No, vendor to owners and contractorssource
FalconVizSurvey deliverables for NEOM and othersundatedNo, surveysource
Knight Frank KSADevelopment monitoring: evaluating designs and contractors, ensuring progress, quality and accurate certificationundatedClosest to a monitoring surveyor; not tied to Wafi or bank releasesource
SkyFiPublic 98 cm imagery over The Line, updated every five daysto Oct 2023No Saudi authority or lender namedsource
MOMAH Balady LensAI and geospatial analytics for visual-distortion violations, 7.7 million inspection rounds8 Jun 2026Regulator enforcement, not progress certificationsource
REGA field supervision1,130 supervisory visits in 2023, 475 of them engineering6 Mar 2024Spot checks; release still rests on the consultant's signaturesource

Searched and not found on any page we could open: DroneDeploy, Doxel, Reconstruct, Buildots or Disperse on a named Saudi project; a Saudi lender-monitoring service at Cushman and Wakefield, Colliers, Currie and Brown or Mace, whose Saudi pages refused the fetch; any regulator pilot using satellite imagery for construction progress.

04 · The size of the release points

Saudi figures only.

FactValueAs ofLink
Wafi off-plan licences, 2023434 licences, 101,942 units; 42,180 units under construction on display licencesFY2023source
Off-plan licences under the new law, first six weeks5,441 units, 2.8 million m2, about SAR 6 billionApr to May 2024source
Off-plan licences, one month55 projects, more than 20,000 units, about SAR 32 billionOct 2025source
Sakani off-plan supply623 projects, 248,000+ units27 Aug 2025source
Bank real-estate loansSAR 938 billion total; corporate SAR 211.8 billionQ3 2025 (SAMA via Argaam)source
Corporate loans to real-estate activitiesSAR 384 billion, about 22 percent of corporate loans, up 39 percent year on yearJun 2025 (SAMA via Arab News)source
REDF Tatweer developer programme38 companies, 41 projects, 3,749 units2024source

Two corporate real-estate series circulate and they are not the same thing: the loans-by-activity series and the real-estate-loan split. They are shown separately above and must not be added or compared. An end-2025 loan stock figure appeared only on pages that refused the fetch and is not carried.

05 · Verdict

What this means for an observed truth.

The release point exists. The independent measurement does not.

Every mechanism above pays against a certificate, and every certificate is signed by someone the payee appointed. A dated, independent measurement of what stands on the ground would slot in beside the consultant's signature without changing a single rule, because no rule names who may measure. The companion study shows what free satellite imagery can and cannot contribute to that measurement.

Back to the main study: Observed vs claimed
06 · Limits

What we could not establish.

  • The statutory day count for paying a certified government settlement sits in a regulation published only as a scanned image; not quoted.
  • Whether the 20 percent figure in the Off-plan Law is money withdrawable for marketing or money held to completion needs a full read of Articles 12 and 13 in Arabic; two secondary sources disagree.
  • Bank drawdown practice at the large banks is undocumented on any page we could open; only one bank describes stage-based release.
  • Who verifies the 40 percent threshold for REDF self-build tranches is not stated.
  • Pages that refused the fetch: Gulf Business, Arabian Business, SPA, Maaal, Currie and Brown, Mace, Colliers, Global Property Guide, several Etimad service pages behind login.
THE TAKEAWAY

Understanding the decision process helps identify where better evidence can be useful.